

President: Vicki Etheridge 154 Gipps Street Dubbo 2830 M. 0417779420 Secretary / Treasurer Dennis Hughes 13 Star Street Grenfell 2810 M. 0427436216 A.B.N. No. 733 069 189 32 Incorporation No. 9875454

E. clrvicki.etheridge@dubbo.nsw.gov.au

E. dwjmhughes@gmail.com

24th May 2020

Submission to Draft Hilltops 2024 (Hilltops LSPS)

Dear General Manager

On behalf of the Lachlan Regional Transport Committee I would like to forward to your Council a submission in regard to the Hilltops Draft Local Strategic Plan proposes conversion of part of the railway line south from Young station to be used as a rail trail.

The Lachlan Regional Transport Committee, of which Hilltops and the former Young Shire have been supportive members, has consistently worked towards the reinstatement of rail.

While we would not wish to oppose the use of railway land for recreational purposes where such use is practical, we would not want to see any part of the Blayney to Demondrille railway converted to a use which precludes or inhibits the restatement of the railway for operation of train services.

We submit that any consideration of the development of a rail trail only proceed on a basis which maintains the corridor for rail purposes.

Vicki Etheridge Chairman LRTC

Yours Sincerely,

FOR. Vicki Etheridge

Dennis Hughes

Sec/Trea LRTC

President Lachlan Regional Transport Committee

Member Councils: Lachlan, Lachlan Valley Rail, Hilltops, Weddin, Temora, Cabonne, Cowra, Lithgow, Wollongong, Wollondilly, Oberon, Blackheath Action Group, Parkes, Dubbo, Blayney.

Member Councils

Lachlan Young Parkes Blayney Oberon

Weddin Cabonne Dubbo City Cowra Lithgow City City of Blue Mountains Wollondilly Shire Lachlan Valley Railway Port Kembla Port Corporation



